COVID-19: Ugandan authorities denies entry to 10 South Korean nationals

Ugandan authorities on Friday prevented 10 South Korean nationals from entering the country upon arrival at the Entebbe International Airport. This is part of the effort by the country to prevent the spread of coronavirus though it has no confirmed cases of the deadly virus.

“They were only about 10 Koreans. It was not an order. The health officials interacted with them on arrival and after it was deemed necessary and politely requested them to return where they were coming from,” Mr Luggya the manager Public Affairs at Uganda Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) said.

Mr Luggya revealed that the South Koreans travelled by RwandaAir into the country adding that he is not sure where they were coming from.

CAA said notices have been issued to all airlines advising them not to bring passengers from category one countries.

Read Also: COVID-19 can stay viable in the air for hours – Research

“The notice advising airlines not to bring in passengers in from category one was issued on Thursday night but the ones (10 South Koreans) we are talking about in particular , there are other issues, issues of quarantine which they initially rejected among others,” Mr Luggya.

On Wednesday the President banned out bound movement to category one for 32 days. These include, Italy, France, South Korea, China, USA, United Kingdom, Netherlands, Switzerland, Sweden, Belgium, Germany, Spain, Norway, Austria, Malaysia, Pakistan and San Marino.

According to Worldometer statistics 255,733 coronavirus cases have been registered, with 10,495 deaths, 89,918 have recovered.

Related posts

France summit: Macron and Sahel partners step up jihadist fight

Chukwudi Adeshina

Central governors sign deal on next phase of universal health initiative

Chukwudi Adeshina

Burkina Faso: Many women killed in suspected jihadist attack

Chukwudi Adeshina

Leave a Reply