Senegal, Gabon bans EU travelers in retaliation


Senegal and Gabon have issued a travel ban on EU citizens after the bloc did not include them on a list of “safe” states due to the coronavirus, according media reports.

The EU issued a list Tuesday of 15 nations considered safe Tuesday, taking into account “epidemiological criteria,” including Africa nations with a high number of confirmed COVID-19 cases and deaths, the media reported.

The EU’S list included only the African nations of Rwanda, Tunisia, Morocco and Algeria, according to their website.

EU officials say the decision was based on a number of scientific factors:

  • Ensuring that the Covid-19 infection rate in the country was low enough (where nations had fewer than 16 in every 100,000 infected)
  • That there was a downward trend of cases
  • That social distancing measures were at “a sufficient level”

The EU list will be updated every two weeks.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.